PIM

Sketch 12: Car vs. Motobike

The sketch was made with the help of my brother who is living in my country Vietnam. If  foreigners visit Vietnam, they could feel dizzy and confused each time they travel on the road and crossing the streets can be a daunting affair since the traffic there is a chaos of many means of transport and noise. The increasing number of vehicles on the road, especially motorbike causes heavy traffic congestion in rush hour.

The idea came up when I wanted to compare the traffic in Melbourne and Hanoi in the context of the affordance ‘collaboration’. I asked my brother to shoot the traffic in rush hour in Hanoi and sent to me via Google Drive. Meanwhile, I shot the traffic in rush hour on Spencer Street in Melbourne. Then I divided the screen horizontally to show the audience the differences between a developing and developed country on several aspects such as public awareness and infrastructure.

 

